Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Cheng tutors in Boulder, CO

Cheng L.

Private tutor in Boulder, CO

Education

Now--University of Colorado at Boulder, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, PhD, GPA 3.9. Got Bachelor's degree from-- School of Physics, Peking University, China, GPA 3.7.

Experience

I am a native Chinese speaker. I was born and grew up in Beijing, so I speak standard Chinese mandarin. I've been teaching Chinese to foreigners for 8 years. I am fluent in English. I can also speak Korean, a little Japanese and Thai,which helps understand the problems foreigners have when learning Chinese. I taught Atmospheric and Weather Labs in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Department of University of Colorado at Boulder(ATOC1070) for two years. It's an undergraduate level class and I have about 150 students in total. I also have tutored ATOC 1050,1060,3600 etc. And I will be happy to help you on any ATOC curriculum and other Earth Science classes. Also, I've been teaching high school math and physics for 7 years, including AP classes and SAT math I and II. My GRE math test score is 800. My students come from many different countries: U.S., Canada, South Korea, Chinese mainland, Thailand, and Hong Kong. I have a gift on understanding students' substaintial problems through their superficial confusion. So all of my students found my classes very helpful on both increasing their scores and improving their understanding on math and physics. I enjoy being a teacher or a tutor because I love the moment that my students finally solve their problems. As a science student, I revere the nature and also being amazed at it. I would like to share my knowledge and show the beauty of nature to my students. Also, Chinese is a very ancient, mysterious and elegant language. The Chinese culture is incredible rich and colorful. I want to share it with people from all of the world.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 1 hour away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

embroidery, calligraphy, piano, Chinese folk dancing, learning different languages, hiking, horse riding, Chinese kongfu, reading books......

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!